The 5th Assembly of the Adentan Municipal Assembly has officially commenced with the inauguration of the newly elected assembly members. The inaugural ceremony took place on Monday, February 12, 2024, at the Resurrection Methodist Church Adentan in the New Legon Electoral Area of the Adentan Municipal Assembly.

A total of 18 assembly members, consisting of 12 elected and six appointed members, were sworn in during the ceremony. The oath of office and secrecy was administered by her ladyship, Nancy Adade, representing the chief justice.

In her welcome address, the Municipal Coordinating Director, Madam Rachel Fosua Sarpong, expressed gratitude to the outgoing assembly members of the 4th Assembly for their dedication and commitment in fulfilling their duties. She also congratulated the newly elected assembly members on their successful election to represent their respective communities. Madam Rachel Fosua Sarpong urged them to build upon the foundation laid by their predecessors and fulfill their mandates with dedication and commitment.

During the programme, a speech by the President of the Republic, H.E. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, was read his behalf by Hon. Joseph Cudjoe, the Minister for Public Enterprises and MP for Effia Constituency. In the speech, the President reminded the newly inaugurated assembly members of their responsibilities and urged them to work hard to support the assembly in fulfilling its mandates and improving their communities.


It will be recalled that the highly anticipated District assembly election in Adentan Municipal Assembly took place on Tuesday, 19 December 2023 resulting in a successful and peaceful voting process. The Adentan District comprises 12 Electoral Areas, encompassing a total of 304 polling centers with 157,420 registered voters. The voter turnout was 21,845, representing approximately 13.88 percent of the registered voters. Out of the total votes cast, which amounted to 21,845, the valid votes cast was 21,525 with 310 rejected ballots across the district.

During the election, a total of 29 candidates vied for the position of assembly members, with 4 females and 25 males. However, no person living with disability contested. Among the female candidates, two (2) were successfully elected, accounting for 50 percent of the total female contestants, while 10 males were elected, making up 40 percent of the total male contestants.

Furthermore, 146 candidates contested in the Unit committee elections in the Adentan District, with 43 females and 103 males. None of the candidates with a disability ran for this position either. Of the 43 female candidates, 18 were elected, constituting 41.86 percent of the total female contestants, while 42 out of the 103 male candidates were elected, representing 40.78 percent of the total number of males who contested.

The main objectives of District Assemblies are to develop and implement plans, programs, and strategies that would effectively mobilize the necessary resources for the overall development of the district. The district assemblies also encourage and support productive activities and social development in the district, while removing any barriers to growth and progress, the assembly members as representatives of the people are to lend their support and participate in these functions.

The inaugural ceremony was graced by esteemed individuals, including government representative Hon. Joseph Cudjoe, the Minister for Public Enterprises and MP for Effia Constituency. Also in attendance were her ladyship, Nancy Adade, MP for Adentan Hon. Mohammed Adamu Ramadan, the Municipal Coordinating Director, Madam Rachel Fosua Sarpong, revered traditional rulers and clergymen, leaders and members of political parties, heads of departments and staff of Adentan Municipal Assembly, heads of security services, as well as the families and loved ones of the new assembly members and members of the general public.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 Share 858 views
Copy link