The Adentan municipal Assembly has inaugurated the four Zonal Councils within the municipality by swearing in the newly elected Unit committee members and election of Zonal Council chairpersons.
The events which were separately held at the Zonal councils’ conference halls on Wednesday, 20th and Thursday, 21st March 2024 saw the newly elected unit committee members sworn into office by taking the oath of office and secrecy administered by Hon. Mahamud Ya-Adzagey, the presiding member of the Adentan municipal Assembly.
Present at the events were the Municipal Chief Executive, Hon Ebenezer Doku, Hon. Mahamud Ya-Adzagey, Assembly member for Otanor Electoral Area and Presiding Member for the Adentan Municipal Assembly, Ms Portia Edu-Essandoh, Deputy Coordinating Director of Adenta Municipal Assembly, assembly and unit committee members, heads of departments and others.
Adentan Municipal Assembly is made up four zonal councils, namely: Nii Ashaley, Sutsuna, Gbentaana and Koose. Nii Ashaley Zonal Council includes three Electoral Areas; Man Hee, Ogbojo and Nii Ashaley. Sutsuna Zonal Council is made up of Adjiringanor, Otanor and Nmai Dzorn Electoral Areas. Gbentaana Zonal Council is made up of four Electoral Areas including, Manmomo, New Adentan, Gbentaana and New Legon Electoral Areas. Last but not least is the Koose Zonal Council which is made up of only two Electoral Areas; Amrahia/Malejor and Koose.
Right after the swearing in of the honourable unit committee members, they proceeded by adoption of official language of which Ewe, Twi, Ga and Hausa were adopted by Nii Ashaley Zonal council, Ewe, Twi, and Ga were adopted by Sutsuna Zonal Council members. Ewe, Twi, Ga, Hausa, Krobo and Busanga were adopted by members of Gbentaana Zonal Council while Ga, Twi and Hausa were adopted by Koose Zonal Council.
Adoption of the official languages were proceeded by the election of chairpersons. At Nii Ashaley, Hon. Bright Afedor, Assembly member for Man Hee electoral area and Hon. Samuel Akrofi, Assembly member for Nii Ashaley Electoral Area were nominated and voted for with Hon. Bright Afedor winning with five (5) votes against Hon. Samuel Akrofi with one (1) vote
At the Sutsuna Zonal Council, Hon. Rodolph Anku Tagbo, a unit committee member and Hon. David Animah, assembly member for Nmai Dzorn Electoral Area were nominated with Hon. David Animah winning with six (6) votes against Hon. Rodolf Anku Tagbo who obtained two (2) votes.
At Gbentaana Zonal Council, Hon. Eric Tony Blair, assembly member for New Legon Electoral Area and Hon. Abdullah Baba Zakaria, a unit committee member from Manmomo Electoral Area were nominated with Hon. Eric Tony Blair winning with six (6) votes against Hon. Abdullah Baba Zakaria who obtained for (4) votes.

At the koose Zonal Council, Hon. Gloria Adjetey Lomoh, assembly member for Koose Electoral Area was sole nominee for the position and she secured all the 10 votes representing 100% endorsement.
In an inaugural address, the Municipal Chief Executive, Hon Ebenezer Doku congratulated the elected Unit committee members on their election and urged the Zonal Council members to discharge their duties and responsibilities effectively to best of their abilities.
He further urged them to do away with partisanship being it political, religious or ethnic and work hard in the best interest of the communities they are representing and the municipal Assembly at large.
Lists of the Zonal Council members are as follow:
Hon. Bright Afedor – chairperson
Hon. Elvis Ofosu Mensah
Hon. Samuel Akrofi
Hon. Mavis Akli –
Hon. Muwaffao Yusif
Hon. Cecilia Anaman
Hon. Theophilus Boye
Hon. Wahid Mohammed

Hon. David Animah – chairperson
Hon. Mahamud Ya-Adzagey
Hon. Thompson Tetteh Anum
Hon. Mercy Sabotey
Hon. Kate Naa Okang
Hon. Rodolph Anku Tagbo
Hon. Ruth Agbovor
Hon. Robert Quansah

Hon. Eric Tony Blair – chairperson
Hon. Ella Esinam Christine Nongo
Hon. Emmanuel Yedu Sackey
Hon. Mohammed Nurudeen Awudu
Hon. Henry Teye Tekpetey
Hon. Samuel Yaw Koranteng
Hon. Ibrahim Mohammed Salifu
Hon. Edina Asafo Adjei
Hon. Abdullah Zakaria Baba (Co-opted)

Hon. Gloria Adjetey Lomoh – chairperson
Hon. Enoch Adjetey Ago
Hon. Theophilia Acheampong Boateng
Hon. Musah Abdul Wahab
Hon. Daniel Kelvin
Hon. Derrick Kotey Amon
Hon. Francis Adjetey
Hon. Ruben Mensah Anang (co-opted)
Hon. Emmanuel Kofi Yeboah
Hon. Ofori Jones Adamtey (Co-opted)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

1 Share 198 views
Copy link