After three unsuccessful attempts, the Adentan Municipal Assembly has finally elected a presiding member for the 5th assembly. The election took place on Tuesday, February 20, 2024, at the Victory Presbyterian Church in Adentan Fafraha during assembly meeting which was called purposely to elect the presiding member and confirm the president’s nominee for the Municipal Chief Executive position.

Hon. Mahamud Ya-Adzagey, the assembly member for Otano Electoral Area, received an overwhelming support from his fellow assembly members, securing 18 votes out of 20 total number of assembly members, representing 90%.

Ms. Rachel Fosua Sarpong, the Municipal Coordinating Director, presided over the meeting and handed over the election process to the Electoral Commission headed by the Municipal Electoral officer, Mr. Gerald Roberts. After nominations were opened for 10 minutes, only Hon. Mahamud Ya-Adzagey filed for the presiding member position.

The election was conducted on a YES or NO basis since it was only one candidate, with Hon. Mahamud Ya-Adzagey receiving all 18 YES votes and no one voted NO to disapprove the candidate.

If we recalled, during the inaugural meeting of the Adentan Municipal Assembly held on Monday, February 12, 2024, at the Resurrection Methodist Church Adentan in the New Legon Electoral Area of the Adentan Municipal Assembly, the newly elected assembly members were unable to elect a presiding member.

The procedures for the election were clearly explained to the newly appointed members, and nominations were opened for a period of 15 minutes. Two candidates were nominated: Hon. Blair Eric Tony, Assembly Member for New Legon Electoral Area, and Hon. Emmanuel Yedu Sackey, Assembly Member for ManMomo Electoral Area.

The election took place, and Hon. Blair Eric Tony obtained 8 votes, representing 40% of the total members, while Hon. Emmanuel Sackey obtained 10 votes, representing 50% of the total members. Neither candidate obtained the required two-thirds majority of the assembly.

According to the electoral guidelines, if no candidate receives the necessary majority, a runoff election should be held between the top two candidates on the same day. If this second round does not produce a winner with the required two-third majority, a final election should be held within 10 days, still involving the same candidates. However, if none of the candidates achieves the two-thirds majority in this third round, nominations will be reopened for different candidates.

Another election was held between the two initial candidates on same day the standing orders prescribed, but the results remained same, with Hon. Tony Blair obtaining 8 votes and Hon. Emmanuel Sackey also obtaining 10 votes. As a result, another election, which was the third one was held on Friday, 15th February, 2024 at the Assembly Hall but results remained unchanged, hence, the need for fresh nomination to allow for new candidates aside those who previously contested.

This is what led to yesterday’s election that saw Mahamud Ya’Adzagey picking new nomination form and subsequently winning the Presiding members positions. The oath of office and secrecy was administered by her ladyship, Nancy Adade, representing the chief justice.

In his remarks, Hon. Mahamud Ya-Adzagey, who was first elected into the assembly in 2019, expressed gratitude for the opportunity and called for unity among assembly members to work together towards common goals.


Hon. Mahamud Ya-Adzagey is a graduate of the University of Ghana Business School where he studied Business Administration and is currently pursuing undergraduate law and a master’s in Public Sector Management at the University of Professional Studies, Accra.

Dignitaries in attendance at the election included the Greater Accra Regional Coordinating Director, the Municipal Coordinating Director, the Greater Accra Regional Electoral Officer, Her ladyship Nancy Adade of Adentan, the MCE nominee Mr. Ebenezer Doku, political party executives, heads of departments and staff of Adentan Municipal Assembly, and members of the general public.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 Shares 274 views
Copy link